Working with Kids.

September 22, 2011

The new job has been busy, but (unexpectedly) good. Earlier in the week there was boy referred due to fights and having suspensions in the double figure range. Yet he was well behaved and puts the doll’s house furniture in a very organisation fashion. Could we be looking at at Obsessive Compulsiveness Disorder or Autism spectrum?

This morning I saw one of my teenage patients, who happily told me she was doing great and she’s stopped binging and purging for a month. It turns out her boyfriend broke up with her, so she decided that she was going to “cut out the crap from now on.” Which meant going back to eating 3 regular meals and incorporating protein into her diet. Mum came in later during the session and was equally amazed. I love it when they cure themselves, although we’ll have to see how long it lasts. Shame we can’t bottle that attitude or manufacture it in pill form for everyone else!

There was this other kid I was baby sitting for one of the other clinicians – a goth with the ‘I’m too cool to be here,’ just here because this girl I like thought I needed help, and I’ve really got nothing to say. About half way in he pointed at my dinosaur era work PC and we ended up discussing PC building, Intel vs AMD CPUs, videocards – NVidia vs ATI, the HD6950 or the 560Ti? What about water cooling? Or is air enough? PC geek stuff, before unloading some horrible, horrible stuff that had happened to him.

The rest of the day was kind of fun considering that it was taken up playing chess or Uno or taking about videogames and cars. Stuff I did when I was in school, except I’m getting paid for it. Funny how things turn out. Then again, maybe it’s just that I look young enough to be able to pull it off.

Leave a Reply

